Wednesday 17 May 2017

Conference Sessions Day 1

Hear from industry experts discuss the latest challenges and developments for the Indian renewable energy market



Wednesday 17 May 2017

11:00 -13:00


Welcome & Inauguration Ceremony 


(All attendees Welcome)

Welcome Address - Mr. Glenn Ensor, Managing Director, PennWell International, UK 

Address by: Dr. Uddesh Kohli, Advisor, POWER-GEN India & Central Asia 2017, India

Keynote Address: Mr. K.M. Singh, CMD, NHPC, India* 

Keynote Address by  – Mr. Gurdeep Singh, CMD, NTPC, India*       

Keynote Address- Shri Atul Sobti, CMD, BHEL, India*          

Keynote Address- Mr. I.S. Jha, CMD, Power Grid Corporation of India Limited, India*  

Keynote Address- Shri P.V. Ramesh, CMD, Rural Electrification Corporation Ltd., India*

Keynote Address- Mr. P.K. Pujari, Secretary, Ministry of Power, India*

Keynote Address- Shri Susheel Kumar, Secretary, Ministry of Coal, India*

Keynote Address- Mr. Rajeev Sharma, CMD, Power Finance Corporation, India*

Keynote Address- Shri Rajiv Gauba, Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, India*      

Keynote Address- Shri Ajay Narayan Jha, Secretary, Ministry of Climate Change, Forest and Environment, India*          

Keynote Address by - Mr. Rajeev Kapoor, Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Govt. of India, India*                       

Chairman Address: Mr. Anil Razdan, Former Secretary (Power), Govt. Of India, India     

 Chief Guest - Mr. Piyush Goyal, Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Power, Coal and New and Renewable Energy, Govt. of India, India*      

13:00 - 14:00 Delegate Lunch Break
Session 1
14:00 - 15:30


High-Level Plenary Panel Discussion: India's Rapidly Transforming Power System

Mr. Ravindra Kumar Verma, Chairman, Central Electricity Authority, India*

Mr. A.K. Jain, MD, Rajasthan Electronics & Instruments Limited (REIL), India

Mr. I.S. Jha, CMD, Power Grid Corporation of India, India*

Mr. Gurdeep Singh, CMD, NTPC, India*

Mr. Ravi Parthasarthy, Chairman, IL&FS, India*

Mr. Ravi Uppal, MD & Group CEO, Jindal Steel & Power Ltd., India*

Mr. Sushil Kumar Soonee, Advisor, POSOCO, India*

Mr. K.S. Popli, Chairman, IREDA, India*


Session 2  
16:00 - 17:30


Panel Discussion: Examining the Policy Roadmap for the 175 GW, 2022 Target

Session Chair: Anchit Gupta, CEO, Focal Energy, India

Policy Keys to Unlock Universal Energy Access: Ground-Breaking Analysis of Best Practice for High-Growth Distributed Renewable Energy Markets
Mrs. Kristina Skierka, Power for All, USA

Is Renewable a matter of definition?

Mr. Rahul Varshney, Director, Statkraft, India

Mr. Rahul Prithiani, Director, CRISIL Research, India

Mr. Sujoy Ghosh, Country Head, First Solar, India

Mr. Anis De, Partner, KPMG, India

Mr. Kuldeep Jain, Managing Director, Clean Max Solar, India*


Energy Storage &  Greater Renewable Energy Integration

A Practical Approach to Storage Optimisation and Hydro Scheduling in Mixed Market Environment for Distribution Utility Owned Generation Stations
Mr. Anand S. R, Dy. Chief Engineer, KSEBL (Kerala State Electricity Board Ltd), India

Pumped Hydro Storage: The Best Possible Electrical Energy Storage Media in India
Mr. Partha Haldar, Assistant Engineer (Mechanical), Damodar Valley Corporation, India"

Title TBC
Dr. M. Eswaramoorthy, ACS College of Engineering, India

Solar Ramp Rate Control using a Battery Energy Storage System (BESS)
Mr. Bishal Madhab Mazumdar, DNV GL, Norway
CO-Author: Mr. Shu Zhen, Mr. Chheda Ketan, Mr.Terence Goh, DNV GL, Norway"