Full Conference Programme

Hear from industry experts discuss the latest challenges and developments for the Indian renewable energy market



Wednesday 17 May 2017

11:00 -13:00


Welcome & Inauguration Ceremony 


(All attendees Welcome)

Welcome Address - Mr. Glenn Ensor, Managing Director, PennWell International, UK 

Address by: Dr. Uddesh Kohli, Advisor, POWER-GEN India & Central Asia 2017, India*

Keynote Address by - Mr. K. M. Singh, CMD, NHPC, India*  

Keynote Address- Shri Atul Sobti, CMD, BHEL, India*           

Keynote Address- Mr. I.S. Jha, CMD, Power Grid Corporation of India Limited, India*  

Keynote Address- Shri P.V. Ramesh, CMD, Rural Electrification Corporation Ltd., India*

Keynote Address- Mr. P.K. Pujari, Secretary, Ministry of Power, India*

Keynote Address- Shri Susheel Kumar, Secretary, Ministry of Coal, India*

Keynote Address- Mr. Rajeev Sharma, CMD, Power Finance Corporation, India

*Keynote Address- Shri Rajiv Gauba, Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, India*      

Keynote Address- Shri Ajay Narayan Jha, Secretary, Ministry of Climate Change, Forest and Environment, India*

Keynote Address by - Mr. Rajeev Kapoor, Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Govt. of India, India*
Chairman Address: Mr. Anil Razdan, Former Secretary (Power), Govt. Of India, India

Chief Guest - Mr. Piyush Goyal, Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Power, Coal and New and Renewable Energy, Govt. of India, India*    

Vote of Thanks - Mr. Rajan Sharma, Managing Director, Interads Exhibition Pvt. Ltd., India

13:00 - 14:00 Delegate Lunch Break
Session 1
14:00 - 15:30


High-Level Plenary Panel Discussion: India's Rapidly Transforming Power System


Chairman: Mr. Gireesh B. Pradhan, Chairman, Central Electricity Regulatory Commission, India*

Mr. Ravindra Kumar Verma, Chairman, Central Electricity Authority, India*

Mr. Deepak Amitabh, Chairman & Managing Director, PTC India, India*

Mr. Ajay Mathur, Director General, TERI, India*

Mr. Ravi Parthasarthy, Chairman, IL&FS, India*

Mr. Ravi Uppal, MD & Group CEO, Jindal Steel & Power Ltd., India*

Session 2  
16:00 - 17:30


Panel Discussion: Examining the Policy Roadmap for the 175 GW, 2022 Target

Policy Keys to Unlock Universal Energy Access: Ground-Breaking Analysis of Best Practice for High-Growth Distributed Renewable Energy Markets
Mrs. Kristina Skierka, Power for All, USA

Is Renewable a matter of definition?

Mr. Rahul Varshney, Director, Statkraft, India

Mr. Anis De, Partner, KPMG, India*


Energy Storage &  Greater Renewable Energy Integration

A Practical Approach to Storage Optimisation and Hydro Scheduling in Mixed Market Environment for Distribution Utility Owned Generation Stations
Mr. Anand S. R, Dy. Chief Engineer, KSEBL (Kerala State Electricity Board Ltd), India

"Pumped Hydro Storage: The Best Possible Electrical Energy Storage Media in India
Mr. Partha Haldar, Assistant Engineer (Mechanical), Damodar Valley Corporation, India"


Tata Power*


Thursday 18 May 2017

Session 3
09:30 - 11:00

How to Successfully Finance Renewable Energy Projects -Real-Life Examples

Mr. R.K. Bhandari- Director (T)- Rajasthan Renewable Energy Corporation Ltd., India*

Mr. J.T. Akhani IAS, Director, GEDA or Mr. A.B. Zinzala, Dy. Secretary Climate Change, GEDA, India*

Mr. K.L. Thakur (Project Director-cum- CEO), Himachal Pradesh Energy Development Agency

Mr. M.P. Singh - DGM (Project), PEDA

Mr. Sanjeev Jain -  Chief Engineer, CREDA"

IFC experience in renewable energy in Central Asia: projects, challenges and opportunities
Mr. Anton Chernyshev, IFC (PennWell), SSH

Mr. Sudhir Nunes, Orange Renewable, India


Focus on Microgrids

Cellular Grid-Design: Micro-Grids taking over Service Functions within the Central Grid
Dr. Karl Kolmsee, CEO, Smart Hydro, Germany

Decision Support and Forecasting Tool for Microgrid Management
Dr. Ganesh Sauba, Principal Consultant- Power & Electrification, DNV-GL, The Netherlands

#P106 - Design of battery storage system for Microgrid
B&V, India

Paving the Way for an Energy-Independent India - A Stone Edge Farm Microgrid Vision
Mr. Craig Wooster, Owner, Wooster Energy, USA

11:00 - 11:30 Delegate Coffee Break  
Session 4
11:30 - 13:00 


New Business Models for Renewable Companies


Mr Thomas Mathew, Sr. Vice President- Business Development, Amplus Solar, India*

Invite:  Azure Power Global Ltd*

Mr. Manoj Kumar Upadhyay, Founder & CMD, ACME Solar, India*
Mytrah Energy India Pvt. Ltd*



Latest Advances in Solar PV


Impact of Solar Power Plant Connection to Weak Electricity Grids
Mr. Rahul Shelke, CTO, CleanMax Solar, India

PV System Audit to Maximize the Plant Performance
Mr. Sri Ranga Sathyanarayan, Sri Ganga Consultants, India

Mr Rakesh Bohra, Sr. Associate Manager- Green Initiatives, Infosys*


13:00 - 14:00  Delegate Lunch 
Session 5  
14:00 - 15:30


Joint Plenary Panel Discussion: Exploring How India's Grid System Needs to Evolve

Achieving Grid Stability With Renewable Power Development Along With Energy Storage Back Up Power In Post-2022 Scenario
Mr. Surendra P. Sharma, Dy. General Manager (Contract & Material), NTPC, India

Mr. R.P. Sasmal, Director (Operation), Power Grid, India*

Mr. Praveer Sinha, Managing Director, Tata Power Delhi Distribution Pvt Ltd., India*

Mr. Rajesh S. Adani, Director, Adani Transmission, India*



Renewable Energy: Innovation Financing- Sorporate Success Stories

Speakers and Titles to be confirmed shortly.


15:30 - 16:00 Delegate Coffee Break 
Session 6:
16:00 - 17:30


Bioenergy & Waste to Energy

Fueling Tomorrow with Today’s Waste
Mr. Murrey Vance, President, Plasma Energy Group, USA

Application of Root Level Research and Development to Fight the Challenges in the Logistics of Biomass Supply Chain Management
Mr. Monish Ahuja, Managing Director, Punjab Renewable Energy Systems Private Ltd, India

Integrated Plasma Gasification Combined Cycle Power Generation
Mr. Richard Fish, President, Alter NRG, USA

Mr. Kamal Raj- Infosys*


Innovative Financing- Investors & Lenders: Innovative Solutions

Speakers and Titles to be confirmed shortly.

Friday 19 May 2017

Session 7
09:30 - 11:00


Strategic Issues in Wind Development


Mr. Mahesh C. Vipradas, Vice President, Regulatory and Power Markets, Sembcorp India*

Mr. Anant Naik, Vice President, Strategic Business Development, Suzlon Energy Limited*

Mr K. S. Popli, CMD, IREDA*

Mr. Arun Kumar, Director Finance & CFO - PTC India Limited *


Unlocking India's Hydro Potential via Small-Scale Generation


Practical Experiences in Executing Micro Hydro Projects
Mr. B.R. Muralidhar, Managing Director, Prakruti Renewable Power, India


Dr. P.C. Pant, Scientist 'G'- MNRE, India*

Dr. N.P Singh*

11:00 - 11:30 Delegate Coffee Break  
Session 8

Impetus to Deliver Skilled Manpower for Renewable Energy Sector



Strategic Issues in Solar Development

13:00 - 14:00  Delegate Lunch